Building Stuff - (2002-03-17, 10:58 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Ugh ugh ugh. Starband was down all day yesterday so I was going through internet withdrawl. Hmm...maybe this means that I'll get googled for "Starband sucks" again.

The thing is, when it works it's wonderful, when it doesn't it's a lost cause. So sorry that I wasn't able to accomplish what I needed to yesterday. I'll have it done before the end of the day. :)

Anyhow, on to recent developments.

My Dad entered his Harley in the local bike show. Friday night I helped to set up the display. There's also a Jesse James bike there, it was really a work of art! He's been talking with the guy that owns it and it sounds like Dad is going to be the one that ends up painting it. What an honor!

The thing is, Dad's a perfectionist. This is very evident in the cars that he's built, the boat that he restored and both Harleys that he's had. The new one (99 Softail Springer) is black with a harlequin flame job on it. Harlequin colors are just amazing. Depending on which way you look at them they can be one of three colors. He used three different harlequin colors for a total of nine different shades. Needless to say those flames look alive.

Building things has always been a big part of my life. Don't like the lemon yellow china hutch that was donated? Painted it cream and replaced all the hinges and drawer pulls and it looks good as new, if not better unless you're partial to that 70's lemon yellow in your kitchen.

I've painted my old bedroom set to match with the things in the guest room too. Next project is to paint the bathroom and put up a border to match the fish shower curtain that Hubby picked out. I guess I inherited that part of myself from my Dad.

Hubby is like that too though. Remember I said that he built me an oak coffee table for Christmas and the matching end table for our Anniversary? Yes, better than anything that I've seen in the furniture store, and certainly exactly what I had wanted. I got to help design it.

Trading Spaces could get me into lots of trouble. Not that I need to have any of my rooms redecorated or anything, I would just be out there trying to help either Ty or whoever else build stuff! And I must add that the Cuban inspired room that Genivieve did in that blue really appealed to me! She's my favorite designer by far. Although I do like Frank too, but Hilde has to go! She's...uck.

Anyhow, I must go catch up on my favorite reads. Have a great Sunday! :)

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?