On Being an Agent - (2002-03-21, 7:54 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

I feel the need to tell some ridiculous customer stories today.

1. Lady calls in and is not intelligent enough to use the internet to book her reservation back in January. She's leaving today and just realized that the return flight is not the one that she wanted. Or so she claims. In the reservation it's documented three times that the fare was recapped and the flights were recapped with the customer. Hmmm...do you think we changed it for her? Nope. To many people take advantage of situations like this, and she was lying.

After a while, you can just tell when someone is lying to you on the phone. It's hard to describe, but after a year and a half, trust me, I can tell.

So she made a big stink, talked to my supervisor and my supervisor's supervisor and basically was told that not only would we do this, but the flights were sold out for the rest of the day. I would have felt badly for her if she wasn't lying, and we do make exceptions in certian situations, but nobody believed her sob story.

2. An agent from General Reservations called me and said that there was a passenger that was making a stink because they had found a fare for less online and wanted the difference refunded to his card because he had brought a two pronged fork onto the plane in his carry on baggage in the past few weeks. What one of these has to do with the other I'm not quite sure.

3. Lastly and most incredibly, a lady made a reservation in February for herself and the other passenger in the name of "Not/Determined." Now, understand the FAA has regulations about changing names on tickets. Basically, you can't do it without reissuing the ticket, and this costs the airline lots of money. The $100 change fee that most airlines charge is not out of line due to what it costs to process an exchange. It's quite the process, and we actually do a lot of work behind the scenes (and off the phone) to process these.

General Reservations had told her that she basically had thrown the cost of the ticket away due to the fact that nobody has the name Not Determined. She said that she didn't know who she was taking with her...well, then you don't buy a ticket until you know! Duh.

I mean, I understand that I'm dealing with the general public here and a lot of corporate traveleres, but people read what you're buying, especially if you're spending more than $100! I guess maybe I'm more careful with my money than the average person, but wow. Some days I just can't believe what people think they can get away with. And believe me, people will try to get away with anything.

One of the commandments on the other .com account that I worked for here briefly was

"thou shalt not kill off a relative to receive a refund on your reservation. We ask for a death certificate." :)

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?