Word from B-I-L - (2002-02-02, 1:50 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Guess what? We heard from my Brother In Law! How he got web access I have no idea, but he emailed us. He's the one that's Pararescue (USAF special forces) and stationed in Kyrgyzstan. Don't have any idea how to pronounce that, but basically he's been working on taking over an old Soviet airfield for USAF use. Here's what he had to say:

Life throws a lot of challenges at you, but (B-I-L) no scared. The quote from Doug Austin (my supervisor) is about the patrols we go on. Today was interesting. We went to a village that we have named "3 mile Island", where the average income of a well-to-do family is $35/month. It makes you think about how much you take for granted. Especially since I had $60 in my pocket. We met a bunch of kids and taught them how to do "High 5s". And they thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Since we were a big hit with the kids the parents dropped thier guard and became almost instant friends (people that were are arch enemies for 50 years). I guess it helps to be on the same mental level as the kids.

Hopefully this will be the last you hear from me while I'm deployed. Feb 8 is the target date to get home. It'll be nice to hug the girl I married and has been my best friend even though the military can sometimes be trying.

Needless to say this is very exciting news for us. Apparently there's been news crews with B-I-L for the last few weeks, and he's been on CNN and stuff. :)

In other news around here, we went to our local Home Depot type store and bought carpeting for the kitchen and a door so that I can finally have a real linen closet. Right now I just have linen shelves and it looks totally tacky. Since my F-I-L runs a countertop business, I'm also going to see if I can't get a scrap from him so that we can redo the countertop in the bathroom to make it longer. It's pretty tiny. I enjoy home improvements, and I've been putting off painting until Hubby got that closet door installed! All this stuff for less than $200.

Yes, I'm sure you all think I'm crazy for wanting carpet in the kitchen, but I really do. We have animals that leave their muddy footprints all over the snow white vinyl I have right now, and I would just rather vacuum and use the carpet cleaner once in a while than sweep and mop every single day. It's getting old!

I had better go finish my laundry. Uck.

Edit: I just got this google. I thought it might be appreciated. It's for WhatGoesOn who I must say, has a fantastic diary. Go take a look! I guess someone couldn't remember the url. :) As far as I could tell, all the LWDRS ladies were listed as links!

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?