Let it go... - (2002-01-26, 11:09 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Okay, I'm sick of talking about this, but someone just can't let it drop.

I have a wonderful friend that had a template designed for her by a designer that she found of Beautify. The designer designed away as designers will do, and asked that no changes be made to her design. Fair enough.

I've asked around a few places about this, and the thing is, I think that your template should be a reflection of yourself and your diary. If she wanted to add little things here and there (as Blaise encouraged me to do) I guess I think that should have been her right to do. After all, how many of us change our templates around here and there? They weren't big changes, just little add-ons that she had found around d-land, even if they were designed by someone else.

I asked around to other designers in fact, and the general consensus was basically "yes I/we make designs for people, however as long as they leave the main design intact so be it. People are going to do that and if you flip out over little changes you're not going to be a very happy designer."

Anyhow, to make a long story short, her designer advised her to take these things off "or else" and just generally started being a little nutso about it. My girlfriend expressed suprise, but decided since it was her diary and she had just made a few small changes and left the main design intact that if her designer couldn't deal, so be it.

Her designer wrote her nasty emails. She made threats. The whole thing got out of hand and became extremely immature. Then because I voiced my opinion about the whole thing, I start getting hits from the designer's diary. Good grief all right already! Let's grow up and just let it drop.

So I got a message in my guestbook from said designer last night asking me to drop it. Um, yeah I had about five days ago. I never wrote about it here, and apparently she thinks that this is a main topic of conversation at my house or something. It certainly doesn't hurt my feelings that she got anal retentive about everything and yanked her images...nor does it hurt my friend who has since had her brother design a template for her.

So I now consider the matter closed! Please don't bother me about it anymore or keep bringing it up over again. You know who you are. It wasn't my deal to begin with, and even though I know that I'll probably start getting hits from your site again I really don't care. Yeah, big deal, she made some changes and you pulled your images. That is your right. Now for God's sake let it go! Everyone else certainly has.

I guess the entry that I was planning about my crazy night last evening will have to wait until later.

An addendum, after speaking to my girlfriend, she told me that her designer added the "do not change" rule after she had completed the design. You can't expect someone to know the rules after the fact. Lets be a little realistic here!!!

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?