Who do you think you are??? - (2002-01-15, 4:39 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

The only funny thing that happened today was that I got a google for "Starband Sucks." Yes, sometimes it does. Since they did the new update it's much better however.

Sounds like I may be taking a day off to go talk to lawyers. Big Brother has been stalking me. I am to pissed right now to write it all out, so I'll just include my notes here.

Cheryl called and left message on unlisted cell phone at 12:30pm 1/14. Advised that she was from the License Bureau and was looking for information about the Malibu for her 17 year old son. Represented herself as an official from the DMV.

She called me at work 1/15 and was "very persistent" per Lori at front desk around 10:30am and advised that "she would hold until she was able to talk to me." I advised her that I cannot take personal calls at work and she kept asking me information about the car. I asked her how she got my home number and she said that it was listed. I told her that it wasn't it was a cellphone. "Oh." was her response. I asked her how she knew that I was the previous owner of the car, and she said that she looked it up at work as she works at the DMV. I told her that I wasn't going to give her any information regarding the Malibu as I didn't like how she had gone about contacting me, and didn't appreciate her playing Big Brother with me. I told her that had she gone about getting info from me in a more non-stalker manner that I would have been much more willing to provide it. She told me that anyone can have access to this information all they have to do is write a letter to St. Paul and request it. I told her that was certainly her right, but don't call me again. She apologized in a snooty manner and we ended the conversation.

After getting off the phone, I thought about it for a few moments and called my husband. After Cheryl had called and left a message on our cellphone last night, we had decided that we were not going to be calling her back because we didn't know how she had gotten our number. We thought that perhaps the dealership (Muscatell) had given her the info, and we were going to address this with them today. (1/15) I told him that Cheryl had called me and that I was really upset about it, the whole situation finally hit me and I started crying at my desk. My co-workers were listening to my conversation with my husband and they were getting upset as well by such a breach of privacy. It is commonly known that I don't give my phone number out or any other information on a regular basis.

At any rate, I got so upset and started shaking that my supervisor Asia pulled me off the phone and we went into a conference room so that I could tell her what was wrong. I just lost it and started shaking and crying even harder. It's difficult for me to think that someone in a position that has all that information about me could use it for their personal gain.

After about 45 minutes, I calmed down and started to get angry. I called our EAP line and spoke to a lawyer from MN who advised that what she had done was illegal, and that it was a breach of employment on her part and even if she were to write to St. Paul to get information she had my work number which isn't something that a regular citizen would have access to.I then called her office since that was the number that she had left me, and was going to request a supervisor. I was quite surprised to find out that she WAS the supervisor! I asked to speak to her supervisor and was transferred to Lori Johnson. I told her what had happened and that I was very upset about the situation and that I had spoken to a lawyer that had advised me that what Cheryl had done was illegal. "This would upset you to be contacted out of the blue about a car that you don't own anymore, don't you agree?" I asked her. She started asking all kinds of questions on who was my lawyer and what was his phone number and that they would need to get into contact with him to start building their case. I advised her that we were still looking around, but that I had already gotten legal advice and had someone that was willing to represent me. I told her that they would be in contact with her if necessary.

After all of this, I called the dealer that I bought our new car from and she told me that the only info that the DMV provides is phone numbers if listed, addresses and names of previous owners. She wouldn't have been able to get any of that other information at all.

Sorry if I haven't said hello to anyone really lately, there's just been some funky stuff going on here and this just takes the cake.

It's been mentioned that I haven't cussed at all in my diary up until a few days ago, and some were kind of surprised! Yep, that's the kind of month January is turning out to be for me. Hopefully I can get back to normal soon because this sucks.

Any feedback or legal advice would be appreciated. ;)

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?