Pararescue? You're kidding, right? - (2001-09-30, 10:57 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Just got off the phone with my brother-in-law, who is in the Air Force stationed in Rammstein, Germany.

A little background here. He is an MP (military police) and while stationed in Germany, has recieved training as Pararescue (Air Force Special Forces) and in anti-terrorism. So of course with all this stuff going on we as a family have been quite concerned about him. He's one of four in Europe that does what he does. Pretty spectacular to be a trainer for the damned Special Forces. That's Toby though, he's an impressive guy. :)

He said that he has been researching and reading on the INTERPOL wires all about Osama bin Laden for quite a while. I guess he said that it's not common knowledge, but bin Laden has been involved in many other acts of terrorism that were thwarted (I don't know if what he told me is privledged info, so I won't go into it) but they had a pretty good idea that something was coming.

He expects to be deployed to the Middle East soon, not to Afghanistan or Pakistan, but perhaps to the surrounding area as bin Laden supporters are so widespread. He said to expect rebellion and a lot of problems in those areas, too.

As far as some of his training goes, I'm not exactly out-of-shape, but if you asked me to run a 7k with a 45 lb. rucksack, 20 lb. of ammo and an 11 lb. automatic rifle three times in a week and do some target practice with a heavy calibur rifle in between, I would probably curl up and die.

My feelings about this are so mixed up. Of course I am so undescribably proud of him, but also very scared for his safety.

Sorry that this entry doesn't have a whole lot of giggles in it, but I guess I'm just not in a giggly mood. Maybe I just need some time to absorb the info and get it straight in my head.

Thanks for reading/listening. Just to know that someone does so helps me feel better. :)

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?