What's that on your elbows? - (2006-02-06, 4:23 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

New therapy today from Physical Therapist Geraldine. No, I'm not back to work, and probably won't be for another 2 weeks.

Yippe. (insert sarcasm here)

Stopped in at work today to say "hi, I'm not allowed to come back in yet...probably not for another 2 weeks and then part time" this morning after Dr. visit.

Geraldine used some sort of scraper thingy on my arms. Between that and ultrasound, she's trying to break up the scar tissue that my tendons and nerves (?) have around them.

Using a big plastic scraper on my arms, where I'm tender in the first place, was about enough to send me through the ceiling.

In other words, it hurt a LOT. She told me that I'm probably going to be all bruised up from it on my arms. Yay, something else to look forward to.

I haven't written in a while as I've been awfully sore, but I have also been supplied with elbow braces.

What is an elbow brace you ask?

It's a big white plastic thingy that prevents me from bending my elbows at night more than about 30 degrees.

How do you get those on each elbow while you can't bend either arm?

Well, that's the funny part. I can get one on by myself, but as I'm not able to bend either arm when they're both on, I have to have Dave strap me in at night before I go to bed, then unstrap me when he gets up in the morning before he goes to work. I'm sure it's quite comical to watch. I have to laugh about it or I'm going to get angry or depressed and start asking "why me?"

So in my "off time" I'm trying to do things that don't involve me using my arms. I figured in the 15 minute spurts that I'm able to be on the computer, I would list some stuff for sale on e-bay, and get some parts for the Impala that I'm selling (door handle needs to be replaced) and a part for my Explorer (rear passenger side window motor doesn't work) so I can have more "honey-do" stuff for Dave to fix next weekend.

Honestly, that's about it. I need to run to the Boy's ranch with some donations of clothes that I've had sitting around.

So yeah, I'm bored. And starting to bruise now from physcal therpay this afternoon.

She warned me...

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?