Fall is here! - (2001-10-16, 6:40 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

It's getting cold here. It's getting to the point where Hubby and I start each other's cars in the morning to get the frost off. He starts mine, I start his 'cause he leaves after I do. What a sweetie! I don't have to get cold twice. I don't like the cold

It was truly a rude awakening last winter. We moved home in October, and of course we were used to the mild East Coast winters. SURPRISE! IT'S DAMNED COLD IN MINNESOTA! I would have thought I remembered, but I was really kidding myself. I had't had a Minnesota winter in two years. Hubby hadn't had a Minnesota winter in 5, and considering his duty stations were in Georgia, Australia, Okinawa, Japan and Quantico, VA...yeah, he was a big tough ice cube! LOL

There are good things about the winter though. I really missed the seasons. Virginia winters are for wusses. They only get about 10F. That is above zero, people. I left my plant bulbs in the ground and didn't even wear some of my winter clothes because they were too warm! :) And when it snowed out there? Oh man, stay off the roads, 'cause those people have a hard time just driving in the rain. LOL I didn't go to work a few days just because I was plain old scared of the other drivers! I can drive in it, no problem, it's taken years of practice, but I'm just scared of Mr. Southerner who goes so slowly he falls off the crown of the road.

Anyhow, the thing that I love best about winter is flannel sheets. I have this new pair, it's printed with cats and dogs with umbrellas. Odd, yes but it really is cute. Raining cats and dogs, you know? The are sooooo soft. I just love crawling into bed when I have those sheets on the bed.

It was cool enough in our house last night that Simon (kitty) took his stuffed bear to bed. Yes, my cats have their own stuffed animals. Homer and Xena have "Mama Cat" and Simon and Homer share "Bear." I guess Simon must have been cold because when I got up this morning at 6 a.m. he had dragged Bear into bed and was all curled up around him. How cute!

Simon is a big wuss though. Homer and Xena, who we adopted in VA are better about the winter than Simon. He goes and sits by the heater vent when it comes on. You pick him up and he's just hot! What a doofus.

I had better go think about starting supper for the Hungry Hungry Hubby. He should be getting home any time now. Frozen pizza? Maybe, I went to the gym after work and just am not feeling all that ambitious.

Oh yeah, give me some guestbook love too, if you have a moment! :)

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?