An Introduction and Workplace Rant - (2001-09-26, 6:46 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Hi...

Well I guess for my first entry I should say a little about myself. First of all, I work online, but don't have the slightest idea about html. Hopefully this will force me to learn! :)

I support an airline website, and managed to keep my job (thankfully) throughout all the layoffs in my industry. My company really takes care of their employees, and even if I would have been laid off, they would have called me back.

I have been married to the most wonderful man for about 3 years. When I met him, he was on leave from the Marine Corps, and was getting ready to go on hazard duty, where you can't be married. Needless to say, he changed directions in the service so that we could get married. I joke with him that I really goofed his life up when I met him! :)

I have a lot of hobbies including gardening, reading and making crafty things. Not really sewing, but I do a little of that too. I have gotten very domestic since I got my own house.

I am 25 and have lived in a couple of different places. My husband was stationed out on the East Coast when he was active duty after we got married, but we moved back to the Midwest as fast as we could. I just can't handle commuting an hour or more each way to work! I don't know how people do that every day for years and years.

We live out in the country now and love it. We're near a medium sized town of about 150,000 so we have most things that we need, and what we don't have is about 4 hours away in Minneapolis.

So that is basically me. I'm pretty normal (I guess) and sometimes things really piss me off, and hopefully I won't offend anyone with my stories about idiots that call me at work.

Thank you for calling _______Airlines, this is Katress. May I have your reservation number please?

Customer: Um...what is that? Where would I find that? Do you want my frequent flyer number?

What I really want to say: No you freaking idiot, if I wanted you frequent flyer number I would have asked you for it in the first place! I can't locate your reservation with that, the only thing that I CAN use is your reservation number or you flight number. If you don't know what flight you are on, you are too stupid to use the computer in the first place and should't have been able to create a reservation online!

What I really say: No, sir/ma'am, I need your reservation number. It should be at the top of the purchase confirmation email that you were sent from ________Airlines that you were instructed to print and keep for your records.

God what a bunch of freakin' idiots! Well, then again, I guess if people were able to create their reservations online all by themselves I would be out of a job. Right?

Moral of the story for the day: Be nice to the person on the other end of the phone. I have almost rerouted people to God-knows-where for being assholes. Be kind and polite to your Online Service Representative and they will be happy to assist you...as long as you have your reservation number ready when you call them, and not waste their time giggling and looking around for it (ooops, I forgot..can you look it up by my -insert whatever here-?)

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?