Flood Update - (2006-04-02, 2:07 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

I'm here on Becky's computer quickly adding an update. After Norm and I canoed around and made sure that everything was okay, I packed a bag and stayed with them in S****. Dave had the kiddo this weekend so he took her down to B**** and stayed there for the weekend.

He, I, Becky, Norm and the sherrif have been keeping a close eye on the house ever since. We've gone out via canoe once a day to make sure that everything is okay, but the water is so high that using the toilet...well, it won't flush. So the house isn't really livable right now. Thank goodness for my community!!! So I've been camping on the N***** couch this weekend.

Beau and Daisy were rescued about 6 PM on Saturday as I physically cannot (and probably shouldn't be at all but hey, it has to be done) canoe out more than once per day. It's just wayyyy to hard on my arms/elbows. Norm and Becky canoed up to the house, let the dogs out on the deck - which has been rechristened the dock - and I stood on the highway waving my arms and calling for them. They had to swim about 1/3 of the way, but they made it. A friend was driving by and took some photos as she said that it was awfully cute to watch those dogs run and swim through the water to me. They were so happy! So the fearsome twosome are currently in Norm's Garagamahal. Norm's got quite the set up, a two story garage, shop on the main floor with a wash bay on one side, the second floor has the pool table, foos ball table and random cast off sofas and chairs. So it's quite the deal and the doggers are very comfortable.

The one thing that is pissing me off though are the gawkers. The sherrif has barricaded the road off as water is over the highway and to protect and hopefully keep people away from our houses. There's yellow tape out there that says "Sherrif's line, DO NOT CROSS!"

I arrived yesterday and there's some yuppie out on the end of my driveway taking photos. I just walked up to him and said "That's my house, did you have any questions?" Jerk. There's a good $150,000 worth of cars/motorcycles/trucks sitting out that someone could cause a lot of problems with too. That's been on my mind as you can't really replace hand built cars. 'Cause you know, that's what my Dad does.

Dave said that yesterday when he was keeping an eye on the house, some woman stopped when she was driving by and asked him if he was okay. He just flat out asked her what she was doing out there. "Why?" she says. "Because you crossed a Sherrif's line to be out here. I LIVE HERE. You don't. So I'm wondering what you're doing out here gawking at my house."

Apparently she couldn't answer.

When I was in my house yesterday there was some dumb ass on a speedboat that had hauled his boat out behind his truck, set off in a neighboring field, and was trying to get under the railroad bridge and highway bridge. The water is so high there that the rr bridge is acting as a dam. So fortunately nature was working against his plan. I know that our neighbors were looted before by someone in a boat during a flood. So that has me quite concerned. But I guess if you think that you need my ridiculously big TV and all my other stuff more than I do, well...good grief. I didn't lock the door, 'cause if you're out there, you're just going to break my window to steal our shit anyhow. So come on in through the door.

Cosmic, Holly, Jamsjunction, thanks for keeping me in your prayers. It's been a hell of a weekend. If I ever had my own version of hell, it would be having a nerve test in my house while the river comes up and floods. Being electricuted and having to watch that at the same time would be just about enough to make me absolutely insane.

And dammit, Friday was supposed to be laundry day. I'm out of clothes.

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?