Where are we going to go??? - (2006-03-01, 10:06 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

So Dave and I had a big talk this morning about what happens when he passes the practical part of Cisco CE exam.

I guess Cisco offers you a job on the spot, and then...well, it's going to be a biiiigggg change. If he stays here, at his current company, I don't think they understand that they will need to give him a raise. To the tune of about double his present salary. That's what the one and only Cisco guy makes in this area. Of course, the Cisco guy passed the "old" CE test, rather than the "new and improved voice" CE test.

Apparently when someone told him that Dave had passed the first part he acted quite threatened.

Or...

(this is the part that's making me think so hard)

We could move. Anywhere they need a Cisco person. The larger the metro area, the larger the $$. I mean, mid to upper six figures. He figured Denver would be between $400k - $600k.

That's a lot of money. I mean, like more than my comprehension. I mean, right now for the first time in my life, our household makes into six figures before taxes.

I love it here though, and really would rather not move away. I could do the Northern VA/Washington DC thing again, as I know where stuff is there. It was okay out there, it's just the commuting and traffic that's the nightmare part of it.

I know nothing about Denver.

I know nothing about Chicago.

I certainly know nothing about NYC.

I told him that I would love to live in AZ or NM.

Never Las Vegas.

I know it's a lot to think about, but apparently we need to start doing so, and then at the point where we have to make a decision we'll be ready and able to do so. It's a lot to wrap my brain around. Not the money, that's not a huge deal to me. But where to live? That's a big decision.

Western SD would be pretty cool. It's so pretty down there.

So, I'm asking for some help:

Where do you live, do you like it? What keeps you there?

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?