How Dave and I met - (2006-02-14, 10:01 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

We went out for supper last night and a couple of other things to celebrate as Dave has dart league tonight. So I'm going to go have supper/drinks with Norm and Vera instead. :)

Nikki was talking about how she met her husband, so I thought I would tell about how Dave and I met too.

Maybe it's not so unusual in the blogging community and it's becoming more common all the time, but we met on the internet. Specifically [email protected].

I found his profile and "winked" at him because I thought he was cute. We emailed back and forth for a while. At one point I thought he had forgotten about me as he never emailed back, but it turns out there was an email that he sent that went out into cyberspace somewhere - he had written it after dart league and lots of beers one night, so I guess it was embarassing for him.

I got this email out of the blue from him after a week of no contact with apologies all around. I emailed him back and said that I had no idea what he was talking about!

We exchanged phone numbers.

He called me one night when I was down at the local bar, and I didn't recognize the number. I'd had a few beers and didn't want to talk to someone that I didn't know, so I didn't answer the phone.

My Mom did. Talk about total humiliation!!!

He understood though, and we proceeded to talk. Not the best first impression on my part for sure, but that didn't deter him...

We talked on the phone whenever we could for about 2 weeks - we would talk until one of our phones would die (usually mine) and then would talk more later that night when it had charged up.

He suggested we meet. The only free time that we both had was a Sunday, so we met at a nice restauraunt on Sunday evening.

I got there first, and was totally nervous. After having so many horrible "internet dates" I was nervous that he wouldn't look like his photo, wasn't as intelligent as he was on the phone as in person, was a complete flake, would stand me up, etc.

I was sitting at the bar when he walked in. My inner monologue told me "Thank you God, for sending me this man, because I am truly blessed - just look at him!"

Ever since then, we've been pretty much inseperable. This was September 2004. We started "sleepovers" at my house in November, and officially combined households in June of 05.

I love my Dave, he's the most intelligent man I've ever met. He loves to take care of me, and in turn, I love to spoil him too.

(I hate to admit this, but my elbow is killing me so I have to stop typing.)

Happy Valentine's Day!!!

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?