Observations and Christmas Shopping - (2005-12-17, 5:12 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Sometimes I just don�t get it.

I mean, I went to the mall earlier this week to get my nails done. Not a big deal, something that I�ve done for about 5 years or so. Found a guy at the shop in the mall that does the best job ever, so I go back to him every time.

What in the world has made people change to be so ugly?

Okay, here�s the thing. I admit, our household income is almost in the six figures. We live very frugally, actually. Our little house, Dave�s truck is almost paid off, my Explorer has another 2 years of payments, and we have 2 Harley�s that are on payments. Really, considering what some households carry in debt, that�s not a big deal. Well, his new Harley payment is more than my Explorer payment, but I love to tease him about it. Heh. But anyhow�

I don�t dress up to go to work. I�m perfectly happy in my Harley shirts and jeans. Maybe a nice sweater here and there, but I certainly don�t dress like a professional. Even though I am. I sure hope that I don�t act as though I�m better than the next person. I try to be a courteous driver and fellow shopper, neighbor, etc. etc.

Sitting there getting my nails done, I was watching other women in the shop. They were treating the vendors/shopkeepers like dirt, helping themselves to whatever they wanted, basically being very �exclusive� of everyone else around them as they were clear they were better than everyone else in the place � and it�s a larger shop. They slung their packages around from a lot of Christmas shopping, and were just very demanding and nasty. I could understand if it was just a few of the women in the place, but it seemed to be just about all of them.

It just made me sad, and I wanted to comment on it. I sure hope those people are showing their kids how to be better than they are.

Dave and I are going to have to be brave and hit the mall after I�m done with work today. Yuck � I just hate the mall. The traffic, the crowds, the shoving and pushing. I don�t go to the mall unless I absolutely have to. And we�re getting down to the wire for Christmas shopping. Fortunately I only have a few people left to buy for, having made most of my gifts by hand again this year. Thank goodness! I have to buy for my little cousins and Dave. Then his SIL Brenda, who I have no clue what to get for. Should be able to get the kids taken care of today, and hopefully Dave has had a chance to call Brenda and ask her what she was wanting for Christmas.

Dave on the other hand, I�m just about at a loss. He shows me stuff quick on Ebay and then won�t send me the item number, so I get kind of stuck. I don�t know how to figure out what part numbers and such that he needs for his bike, and Harley stuff and aftermarket stuff is so customizable it�s tough for me to think of exactly what he wants for his bike as far as accessories go. I know what he wants/needs, but don�t know how to find it and would rather buy it online as it�s much cheaper.

He says that he wants jeans, but I would rather get him something really nice. I mean, we�re going to Mexico for Christmas, and that�s my present. Good deal for me, right? So what do you get someone in return, especially someone that has everything? I�m just stumped!!!

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?