Independence Day and Reminicents of the Past - (2003-07-04, 10:49 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Guess what?

I was able to take a four hour nap yesterday and I actually felt pretty good! This is a major accomplishment for me! I'm so excited that I'm starting to feel better, that I don't even have the words!!!

We're going up to GF today, it's about an hour North of here, to see Hubby's Dad and Step-Mom. I love them both to pieces, so I think it's going to be wonderful. I'm getting to the point where I'm able to be out in public now or in a different place other than home and be reasonably comfortable. Not perfect, but okay. Does that make sense?

I was thinking about Fourth of July holidays in the past this morning.

When I was younger, Kelly, Shon and I would be out at the lake, dropping firecrackers and bottle rockets off the dock, holding them until the fuse was almost gone, and then toss them in the lake and they would make smoke bubbles and shoot off into the depths of the bluegreen water. Then we would just laugh our asses off because it was so incredibly funny! It had this great sound (bloop, pop!) and seeing smoke bubbles come out of the lake was fun.

Then there were the years that my parents would have the Independence day parties out at our house. Lots of food, family friends and my Dad and his buddies always filling gigantic Hefty bags with acetyline from the torch and blowing them up. Those things were horribly dangerous, but they made a great exploding sound. Only at my house...Dad's slightly nuts sometimes.

When I was older, I would go over to Missy's parents house as they live close to one of the colleges here in town, and they light fireworks off from there every year. Her family and I would sit in the backyard and ooh and ahh over the huge expensive fireworks that they were shooting off from a block or so away. They were almost always directly over our heads, and it seemed as though the show was just for us!

When we lived out in Quantico, it seemed as though we were always on I-95 when the fireworks would start. Either on our way back from supper (it gets darker there earlier as it's much further South than here) and we would join the other cars parked on the side of the road going South, and just watch. We would roll down the windows and let the hot air just engulf us and hold hands and just watch.

Last year, we invited Dave and Heather out as everyone had to work the next day, and just the four of us went out to the driveway and blew up a bunch of stuff. That was fun--just a close intimate gathering. Dave and Heather are wonderful, and I miss spending time with them. Dave is over in Iraq right now, and we're not sure when he's coming home. I miss him.

This year the holiday will be spent with the in-laws, and I'm hoping that I'll have as much fun as I have in years past.

Happy Independence day.

I'm starting to get my Independence back, so there's truly something for me to celebrate this year.

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?