Car Shopping - (2003-04-18, 6:30 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Well, I finally have a few moments to update.

I'm going on not a lot of sleep from last night, so if this isn't all that coherent I apologize in advance.

I'm going car shopping after work today! I spoke with an old friend last night that used to be in car sales and he gave me some names of people to talk to. Now if I can just make sure that I'm not talked down to as a woman we should be good to go.

I hate that, it's one of my biggest pet peeves. I have helped my Dad build cars for God's sake. I know how to do all sorts of things mechanical, but let me walk into a car dealership and all of sudden the people that work there think I don't have a brain cell in my very female (which means hollow when it comes to vehicles) head.

I know exactly what I want. There are several things that would be more than acceptable. It's finding the one that I like the best, balancing out mileage, the model year and the manufacturer that's going to be my toughest challenge.

I want either a Ford Escape, a Ford Explorer, a Chevy Blazer/GMC Jimmy or a Nissan Xterra.

If any of the above are in yellow, they're not contenders. I just don't think that yellow suits my personality.

I also hate red. I've owned a red car, and the only reason was because it was the right price. But I think red should be reserved for sports cars and hot rods. Just my own personal deal though.

I would also rather not have white. My Grand Am is white, and it's very hard to keep clean! It's just so...blah.

I would love silver, navy or black. I would put the effort into keeping navy or black clean.

Anyhow, I'm going to test drive some after work today and I'm pretty excited. I'm going to do a bit of research online tonight and see what I can come up with in regards to more information so I know exactly what I'm talking about when I go into dealerships. Hubby works all weekend, and I'm old enough that I don't need my Dad to come with--although now when I think of it, that's not a bad idea. I would never buy anything without his stamp of approval anyhow, but he's like known as a car man in the area. You don't just win "Builder of the Year" and people forget about you. :)

I know my budget, and I know what I'm looking for.

This should be interesting. I'll let you all know how it goes!

Happy Friday!

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?