Bye Aunt - (2002-06-26, 6:32 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Sad day yesterday. My Great Aunt Anna passed away on Friday, and we went up to her funeral. Don't get me wrong, it was okay that she went. She had a stroke in the beginning of May that paralyzed her from the neck down, and for the most active senior citizen that I've ever seen, it was just to much to deal with. So even though I loved her dearly, it was okay for her to go.

We went up and saw what is left of the farm that my Mom grew up on, and the church that my Great Great Grandfather donated the land for. That's pretty incredible. All these people that I have never met, and they have pictures of my family in their archives hanging on the wall. The church was unlocked of course, which I wonder if you don't find anywhere else outside of rural North Dakota. It's very pretty up there. My Mom pointed out trees that her Dad planted the year she was born.

But unfortunately like many family farms, my Grandpa had to shut down. He wasn't able to make enough money farming to even make the payments on the farm, so it was sold. Very sad deal.

Total topic change here...

On the way home we stopped at Burger King to get some supper. A family that left had four young girls, I'm guessing between the ages of 8 and 3. The father just beat the living daylights out of the 6 year old out in the parking lot.

I mean, he wound up and swung, hitting her on the lower back rather than the butt. Eight times, and then six, all while hanging on to her arm so tightly he almost had lifted her off the ground. You could see her screaming.

I just don't even know what else to say about that. It was horrible, and being as though my husband was an abused child, he didn't react all that well. It upset all of us quite a bit. He said that if he had gone out there to confront that guy, he wasn't sure that he would have been able to stop himself. If you know what I mean. He's a big guy, and probably would have beaten that horrible father into a pulp. Hubby's kind of spooky when he gets really angry because he's big.

If my cell phone would have had a signal I would have called the police.

That's our awful end to a peaceful day.

I hope today is better.

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?