The Flood is Coming - (2006-03-30, 5:18 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

It's times like these that I hate living by the river.

Seriously. We've had warm weather for the past two days. My parents are gone. Dave is in Texas. I'm here all by myself.

The house is okay so far - both ours and theirs. The shop, not so good. There's about 1" of water in the pole barn which is where Liz's furniture is at for her room that I was going to refinish...and a beautiful oak dresser that was taken from Quantico, VA barracks. Seriously, it was original to the base and quite pretty. Solid furniture just isn't made anymore.

I can't find the key for one of Dad's trucks. No clue - the last time that I saw it was when it was on my keyring and I haven't got a clue where it went. So yeah, not good at all.

Here are my instructions:

First thing - turn off the shop propane tank tie it down to a tree so it doesn't drift off or float away.

White truck - if you can't find the key, try to lift the back up with the 3 point hitch on the green tractor. Drag it onto the front yard - I can fix the grass later.

71 Ford truck should start - manual choke. It can be used to push/pull all the other vehicles - it's 4 wheel drive if needed.

Green truck - if you can, put it in the garage at the house.

Keys for the 40, and the Model A and the Mustang are in the ***** *** ****** **** ***. Kat knows where they are.

Mustang - I don't know if it will start or not - but give it a try.

Model A - should start. Very cold blooded. You have to pump it a lot. Just turn the key and pump the shit out of it.

40 Ford - should start - check the oil FIRST. The drain plug leaks so it may be low on oil. Oil is in the shelf in the shop next to the reefer. Kat knows where that is also.

JD lawnmower. It should start - put it in the shop.

Anything misc. put it in the shop - battery charger, portable air compresser, etc.

I can't think of anything else right now - but use your discretion and judgment.

Jealous, aren't you?

I have the biggest freaking stress headache you wouldn't even believe it. I am going to have to park the Explorer out on the highway tonight and hope to God that nobody damages it/steals it/runs into it/vandalizes it. Otherwise there's no way that I'm going to be able to get out of the driveway tomorrow. I mean, the water is already over it...but it's fordable (no pun intended) at this time.

Unfortunately the river is supposed to rise another 1 1/2 feet, and then the driveway is not passable.

I wonder if I can borrow someone's waders?

I'm so not kidding about that last statement. When I was out in the pole barn I got some awfully wet feet!!!

Shit, it just occurred to me that we have to get the Harley's out as well. I am so not going to ride my Harley in the water, that's not do-able. It's doubtful whether or not I will be able to pull the clutch at all right now anyhow.

Thank goodness Norm, Scott and hopefully some others are on their way over before I lose daylight. I am not supposed to be doing some of these things (Dr.s order), so I'm just...waiting, I guess.

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?