My Bar - (2005-12-10, 12:56 p.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Since I'm procrastinating and should be cleaning, I thought I would take an entry today to talk about "my" bar.

Yeah, the little town I live in has a bar. We used to have 2, but I guess a town of 350 or so just isn't enough to support the town.

(Even with the high number of alcoholics we seem to have!)

I love my bar. It's not the cleanest, most up-to-date thing around, but it's mine. My place to go.

The building is one of the original in the little town that I live by - it used to be a bank! It's well over 100 years old and you can see the bricks on the inside and out where the original bank building used to be. Pretty cool.

There are many things that I love about my bar, but rather than just ramble on, I thought I would make a list. So here goes!

- My bar has karoke every other Friday and the karoke lady (Beth) knows what song you want to sing just by who you are.

- We eat out there at least once a week, and the food is always fantastic! They have a professional chef (no joke, he went to cullinary school!) and sometimes he will whip something up that's just so not typical bar food, but is just out of this world.

- Robbie, the Wednesday night cook, always knows to keep the grill hot as I work late, and I can count on getting some good food even if I arrive after the traditional grill hours. For example, if the roads are bad and it takes me an extra 1/2 hour to get there, I know that I don't have to worry because Robbie will still feed me. :)

- The bartenders know me and Dave by name, they know our drinks, and we know them all them by name also. We know their kids by name, and what they're into - like music, sports, etc.

- The bar is owned by 2 brothers, and their dad and brother (the previously mentioned Robbie) try out homemade stuff on us. Like the chocolate covered pretzel sticks with Christmas sprinkles this Wednesday night. Yummy!!

- We suggested dessert just for fun, and a few weeks later they had leftover cookies from lunch. One of the guys went into town, got some ice cream and made cookie ice cream sandwiches for us because they knew we would be showing up sooner or later. They were delicious!!!

- It's a gathering place for us. And our friends from our small town. A chance to sit down, have 2-3 drinks/beers, have a great meal and get out of there for less than $15/each.

- Robbie and the bartenders always know to send a little extra home for Beau and Daisy. The dogs love the leftovers!!

- Jerry's band plays there pretty regularly. He's 68 and has been talking about retiring from the music biz, but he just can't seem to *not* play. He does a great Johnny Cash, especially Sunday Morning Coming Down. What's extra fun is that my Mom used to play in that band with him when they were in their teens and 20's.

So yeah, my bar is like my "Cheers" complete with Norm. He's one of my best buddies. Seriously. We call his wife "Vera" and everything, even though her real name is Becky.

I love my bar. I know that I always have a place to go visit or be social and get an exceptionally good hot meal. Can't beat it!

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?