Our Power is back ON!!! - (2005-12-04, 11:57 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

It's been one heck of a week.

Our new generator is great, but Tuesday night when Dave had darts and stayed in town late, it ran out of gas. No biggie, I just rolled over and went to sleep.

He got home around 12:30 and put gas in to fire it back up. We had a power surge, the electric blanket shorted itself out and started smoking, my nightlight (so I don't step on dogs when the cats get me up in the middle of the night) popped, so I got up and went out into the living room.

As I stood out there, our BRAND NEW DISHWASHER STARTED SMOKING and I started crying. The ridiculously big tv and more stereo equipment than we'll ever need in the living room popped... you can see where this is going.

I thought we were going to start the house on fire!

Dave got everything taken care of, of course. I just went to bed and sobbed. Sometimes I'm just not all that good with stress like that. Okay, most of the time, but who's counting?

After he got everything squared away, he came and laid down beside me, wrapped his arms around me and said "do you honestly think that I would let anything bad happen to you?" Yes, I know but it was still very scary. I know my honey can take care of everything and anything that comes along.

We got power back Friday night. Dave called me at work and said "I'm going to go home and turn everything on in the house at ONCE!"

It was so good to drive home that night and see people's yard lights on again, as with the power all out the countryside was just black and the stars were sharp in the sky.

Note to self: plug in and set timer for outside Christmas lights now that there's power!!!

We went to Minneapolis to get my new car on Thursday and there were poles down about 1/2 mile from our house. Quite a few of them, just snapped off about 3 feet up from the bases. The lines were coated with ice and looked to be about 4" thick.

It's been something, all right.

Oh, and I really like the new car. A lot. I don't know which vehicle to sell??? They're both great! Oh well, more later.

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?