Custom Design Rules - (2003-08-17, 9:50 a.m.)


Current | Archives | Profile
Random | My Space | Map
Email | Guestbook | Notes
host | Image | Design

Visits:

Am I a bitch for asking for something in return for a custom design??? Why are so many people out there unwilling to do something in return?

For God's sake, what I ask isn't that big of a deal--something off my wishlist--and I basically tell whomever I'm doing the design for that they can "pay" me when I am done with what they feel is appropriate. I've gotten everything from books, DVDs and paypal.

I mean, I'm flattered that there are that many people out there that like my designs--that's great and much appreciated--but to quote someone else "Nobody rides for free."

I used to do designs for "free" and not ask anything in return. I would make designs and the person would disappear, or perhaps update their diary a whole three times after they got the new design. Now tell me if you think that was worth my time? NO!

I sympathize that you might be younger and not have a credit card. Then you go to the store, get me something and mail it so that I know that you're not going to disappear. I'm a busy person and it just makes me upset that I blatantly say on my page for custom designs that I require whoever wants the custom design to send me something in return.

The only exception for this of course is friends. If I know you, it's likely that I'll do something for you just for fun and to teach myself new things.

But I don't like being taken advantage of by people that I don't know who think that I'll bend the rules for them.

*sigh*

last - next

Missed These?

Hospital Stay for Dad
S-L-O-W-E-R
Long time, no write
Soul Sucker
What the F*(&^ is Fibromyalgia?